top of page

Starting and Re-starting

"Starting is the hardest part." I've said it before and again it rings true, but this time it's "Re-starting is the hardest part."

It's been over a month since I've written a blog post and even longer since I've journaled period. Where does the time go? I think about it. I've even started drafting a few posts and then my words don't sound right. I read back what I've written and I sound choppy and forced. I over-critique, get frustrated and quit. Why? I don't know, but today I'm overcoming it. I'm, writing for the sake of writing. It's not anything monumental. There isn't a life-changing lesson to be learned and some deep insight. Just me writing to re-kick-start my blogging ambition.

The last month has been full to the brim with fun, with hard work and with lots of family together time. I started Yoga Teacher Training at Evolve to Harmony in Omaha. This is a big deal. I contemplated for months on whether to actually take the leap and commit to becoming a yoga teacher. I know how much I love yoga, but teaching what you love is another story. Another aspect to consider was the financial aspect. It's an investment, but in the end I decided (with a little push from family and friends) to go for it and holy cow, am I so thankful that I did! I have 2 weekends of a 8 weekend program completed and I could not be more grateful for the experience. It's intense and by Sunday night of the training weekend, I am exhausted. It's physically, mentally and spiritually grueling but every minute I'm in training, I'm elated. Exploring and learning more about myself and about yoga, and I'm not just talking about the poses or standing on your head. I'm talking about the yogi life. Kindness to myself and to others. Breathing, meditation, living intentionally and mindfully. It culminates everything that I've been trying to become to be the best version of myself. I am exactly where I need to be. I can sit here and beat myself up asking myself why I didn't do this sooner, but then I stop and realize there is a reason I am doing this now. The group of women that I am in training with are absolutely the most wonderful group of women. Beautiful people that share my interests and passions, but also individuals that I'm learning from. Our fearless leader, Carole is loving and supportive and has a wealth of knowledge from her own personal studies and mentors along the way. Thankful is an understatement.

Also in the last month my kids finished school. The school year is over and I officially have a 1st grader and a 4th grader! I'm trying really hard not to get up in the "they're growing up so fast"/"I wish time would stop" mentality. They are growing at the proper speed and they are going to grow up whether I like it or not. I'm trying hard to just enjoy where they are at in their lives. My goal is to be present and look them in the eye. Give lots of love and hugs right now, as they are. A first grader and a fourth grader, still can't believe it! See there I go again! All right, moving on...

We spent Memorial Day weekend with my husband's family (tradition) but we also managed to sneak out to lake and spend some time enjoying the boat. And we've had the boat out a handful of times since then. A cold front moved in around Father's Day, but we still went out on the water, everyone in hoodies and sweats. We caught our limit of walleyes, so my husband was happy. Bring on the boat, book in hand, breeze on my face, surrounded by my family and the beautiful scenery of an Iowa lake. Today we are packing up for a 5 day fishing/camping trip to South Dakota. We love the outdoors so as long as I can get over my anxiety about all the little things (meal planning, sleeping arrangements, activities to keep the kids busy), we should have a wonderful time. I have a few books packed that should keep me sane and allow me to enjoy one of my favorite hobbies.

Speaking of which, here's a list of what I've read and listened to this past month:

You are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero. I cannot rave about this book enough. Holy cow! Jen Sincero is hilarious and extremely blunt. She motivates you in a way that doesn't over complicate things. If you want to be it, go do it!

No Angel: My Harrowing Undercover Journey to the Inner Circle of the Hells Angels by Jay Dobyns. This book was fascinating. I'm not even sure how I came across it because it's not in my usually realm of nonfiction, but I really enjoyed listening to Jay's story.

The Girl Who Fell From the Sky by Heidi W Durrow. This was my pick for our book club book for the month of June. The story in this book is heartbreaking and strange. It was a fast read and very different than any other story I've read.

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. This book was a lot different than I thought it was going to be. I thought she was going to talk about tidying up every day and what a difference that would make, but her whole method is getting rid of anything hat doesn't spark joy. Essentially tidying up one time and you never have to do it again. Her method reminds me of a blog post I wrote a few months ago, but on steroids. Her rule of going through your things by category and not location is genius! I haven't fully started, but I've gone through my books and that was a huge step because I have a ton. I've embraced the mentality of getting rid of things that don't spark joy.

The Nest by Cynthia D' Aprix. This book came highly recommended so I squeezed it in between book club books and I'm so glad I did! It's about this dysfunctional family from New York and what happens when their trust funds are depleted because of their brother's screw up. You can imagine the high emotions that take place, but I also couldn't get enough of the family's endless stories.

I'm currently listening to Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert (again) and reading Miracle Morning by Hal Elrod (FINALLY). This book was recommended to me months and months ago, but I am finally getting to it. As you know from reading other posts from me that I'm not a morning person, so the though of transforming my morning in order to be more productive is in intriguing. Bring it on! Lastly, I'm reading The Glass Universe: How the Ladies of Harvard Observatory Took the Measure of the Stars for July book club. One of the many things I love about book club is the fact that I am introduced o books that I would have never picked up for myself. So far I have enjoyed every book we've read and we've had quite an array of topics from sci-fi to heartbreaking memoirs to post-apocalyptic existence. We meet once a month at a restaurant around town. We eat, drink, chat about the book and life in general. I love it and all the women in it.

Dance Recital 2017

Dance recital, a family wedding, a trip to the zoo, College World Series and so much more. This first month of summer has been amazing! I took a pretty big step this month and deleted Snap Chat and Instagram off my phone. I also blocked Facebook. It's amazing to realize how much time I was wasting on those social media apps on my phone. I can still access Fbook and Insta on my computer so I'm not completely cut off but definitely reduced and feeling very liberated! I could write 1000 more words about the last month, but I have packing o do! Again, I want to say thank you for reading our work. My sister has had some pretty major life changes in the last month that I will let her expand on, but let's just say it's been a pretty epic month!

I hope you all are having a wonderful summer and safe and fun 4th of July! Cheers!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page