top of page

Experiencing Cauliflower | Series

I've been seeing a lot of different cauliflower recipes on Facebook and Pinterest lately, and thought I would join in on the movement. I have at least five recipes that I would like to try out and I'll take you along as I go.

This wasn't a popular idea in my household, but I think it's one we can warm up to. To start this series out I began with the cauliflower buffalo bites, because we we love buffalo wings. More often then not if we are eating out somewhere casual we like to order wings. I was really excited to try them out, and taste if they were anything like the real deal. Chelsea, from Gal on a Mission, wrote that she " I would give up chicken wings in a heart beat for these little guys."

So for starters I hopped on Pinterest to search my own pins, because I knew I had saved a couple recently. Of course I didn't read them when pinned at the time to find out that they were actually pretty simple to make.

All you need is a head of cauliflower or 6 cups. I didn't measure, so I'm not sure if those equal each other or not. Next you'll need butter, hot sauce and garlic powder.

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.

While oven is preheating break up the cauliflower as big of chunks as you want your bites. Mix together the melted butter, garlic powder and Franks red hot. Place cauliflower in a gallon size ziplock bag, or a grocery bag would work to, just make sure there are no holes in it. Pour mixture in the bag as well and shake it up. Make sure the cauliflower is evenly coated.

Have a baking sheet greased and ready. Spread your bites out evenly on the sheet. I always cover my baking sheet with aluminum foil for fast clean up and I feel as if it helps with the life of the pan.

Bake for 20 mins, and they are good to go. Although I thought mine turned out a little on the soft side, maybe next time I'll check them at 15 mins. My oven is kind of old, it might run on the hot side at times.

They were delicious! Now I wouldn't give up my chicken wings, but this is a good alternative. Unfortunately I ate them all before Matt could try any (oops! Haha). In my defense he was asleep and I didn't want to wake him. I paired them with lettuce and tomatoes and it was as if I was eating a buffalo chicken salad.

Now that I know how simple, quick and easy these bites are, I'll add them to our meal list.

Ingredients:

6 cups cauliflower (or 1 head)

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon butter - melted

3/4 cup Frank's Red Hot Sauce

1. Preheat oven to 450

2. Break up cauliflower

3. Mix together garlic powder, butter, and Frank's

4. Pour franks over cauliflower in gallon ziplock bag, and shake well.

5. Place evenly on a baking sheet.

6. Bake for 20 mins.

I'm looking forward to cooking more with cauliflower!

Let me know if you'll try this recipe.

-B

SaveSaveSave

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page