top of page

A Little Life Update

I haven't blogged in a really long time, and I'm trying to fit in writing to my weekly routine. So, today, I'm sitting down to write and give a little update on all things ME! What I've been reading, listening to, watching, and doing.

My Goodreads 2018 book challenge is to read 45 books, and I'm happy to report that I'm ahead of schedule with 20 books read so far this year. Now, some of you might be wondering, how in the hell does she find time to read 20 books in 3 1/2 months. Answer: I listen to most of them. I always have an audiobook (or two) downloaded to my phone. I use Overdrive Media app and check them out from my local library. I joined a book club last year that helps me to get at least one book read per month. Although, I have to admit, I didn't read March's book, The Underground Railroad. It wasn't lack of interest, it was really just lack of time dedicated to reading. I'm reading Harry Potter to my kids. We are all really enjoying it! We try to read 30 minutes every day, but there are days that that just doesn't happen, Here's what I've read/listened to so far this year (in order from most recently finished):

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by JK Rowling

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

Rising Strong by Brene Brown

I Regret Nothing by Jen Lancaster

Rising Strong as a Spiritual Practice by Brene Brown

The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women by Kate Moore

In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Commonwealth by Ann Patchett

Judgment Detox: Release the Beliefs That Hold You Back from Living a Better Life by Gabrielle Bernstein

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware

The Girl in the Spider's Web by David Lagercrantz

Fortune's Daughter by Alice Hoffman

The Funny Thing Is... by Ellen DeGeneres

Yes Please by Amy Pohler

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest by Steig Larson

Daring Greatly by Brene Brown

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Heather O'Neill

Right now I'm reading Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging and the Courage to Stand Alone by Brene Brown, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle and listening to You are a Badass at Making Money: Master the Mindset of Wealth by Jen Sincero.

Whew, I got a little worn out just making that list. I want to be able to tell you what I thought about each one but no time for that tonight in this post. If you really want to know, let's be friends on Goodreads! :)

Moving on.

On the music front, I've been hitting up Spotify and loving Plantrae, Grace VanderWaal (the amazing young singer/song-writer from AGT), and the Big Little Lies Soundtrack which turned me onto Leon Bridges. Lots of mellow sounds lately. I discovered Plantrae when I was listening to a yoga playlist. I'm always on the lookout for music for my classes. The sounds that he puts together and the mood it sets is phenomenal. I listen to it in my office, when hanging out at

home or while cooking. Super chill vibe. Every once and a while I turn it over to my usual favorites Turnpike Troubadours or Yoga Girl's Playlist of the Month or Eric Church Radio. I went to a Logic show with my best friend and surprisingly, had a GREAT time. I was leery because I didn't know a lot about Logic or his music and I knew we would be some of the oldest people there as it was a UNO campus event. Despite all the reasons I thought I wouldn't have a good time, the truth is I was with my best friend in the whole world and it was live music. The energy in the room was unstoppable. I loved it!! We danced our little hearts out and sang along (kinda, sometimes, when we could make out the words). I am sad to report that we had Turnpike tickets that I ended up having to give up because, well, life happened. I hate to miss them when they're in town, but sometimes staying home as a family after a rough couple of days (or weeks) is most important.

Next up, what I've been watching. This one is tough because we haven't had cable for a few months. I've had to let go of some of my shows, but that's ok. While my husband was traveling for most of the month of February, I hardly watched any TV at all. I would go days without even turning it on. I did watch Big Little Lies because it became available at the library and I've been waiting to watch season one of this HBO series. It was excellent! Better than I even expected. The filming and music blew me away. I read the book last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. I knew the show would be good, but I was blown away with how good. Sometimes shows with big time casts and big anticipation can be a major let-down, but this one lived up to all the hype. I'm anxious to see what they will do with season 2. Nels and I have been watching-ish Dexter. I say watching-ish because we turn it on when we go to bed and either one or both of us pass out before the episode is over. It really is a great show, we are both just so drained by bedtime that we don't make it very far. Thank goodness for the recaps at the beginning of each episode! We watched Ozark season 1 last month on Netflix, and we both loved it! I've been wanting to watch it for a while because I love Jason Bateman. It's a serious role which is different for him, but it's still got some of his flat, dry humor. Oh, and there's a new season of Santa Clarita Diet that I'm fitting in an episode of here and there! It's funny, I thought I wasn't watching much of anything and then when I list it all out I do have a "few" things I've been tuning in to. At my sister's house last weekend we watched 50 First Dates for he 50 millionth time. Gets us every time, huh, B? And this was the first time my daughter had seen it so that was fun to show her one of my all-time favorites.

In the last few months, I turned 33 and my son turned 7, my husband has started a new position, we went to Mexico, we remodeled our bathroom (post on that coming soon), I sadly ended my role as a yoga teacher at a studio here in town (more on that later) and I started collecting indoor plants. Oh and Nels turned 36 without celebration...yet, because of said new job (probably more on that later too). The kids are alive and thriving. We're all looking forward to warmer weather and we're starting to plan our summer vacation. I think the boat is coming out of storage this weekend. And I have written a blog article. Check, check, check. (It's a Friends reference. Please someone know which episode I'm talking about. B? Check)

Light and love to you all! Thanks for stopping by!

Until next time,

Stacie

p.s. B is wedding planning, hence her being MIA. (more, much more on that later!!!) I'm excited for her pending nuptials if you can't tell! :))

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page