top of page

Then there was three...

It started out as an innocent conversation. We had been dating for over a year, and we thought we were ready.

First it was talks of dogs, but then we didn't know when we would be in a house so we moved on to cats. I was never really a cat person. Neither was Matt, he had grown up with dogs, but if we were to get a cat it was going to be a unique one. We started out looking at Bengal cats, a couple friends of ours have bengals. And get this, one of them even goes pee in the toilet. I've seen it, it's real! Haha.. Then we moved on to munchkin cats, they have really long bodies and short little legs. So adorable! We were set on finding a munchkin kitten.

We did end up finding a breeder in Des Moines who is the definition of cat lady! We emailed back and forth a few times about when kittens would be available, and I bet if I looked I could find her first email which read "COME SEE MY BABIES."

Matt, our friend Jon and I went to this woman's house one random night to visit the kittens and see what she had. I can vividly see this woman's house. Walking up to it, we saw 3 or 4 cats lounging in the window and when we walked in there were at least 3 running around the living room. We walked into the house and into the kitchen, there were cages stacked on cages in every corner of the kitchen full of kittens and mothers.

It was overwhelming. She had a lot of kittens. Most of them had already been spoken for. We looked at the munchkin kittens, which wouldn't be ready to leave for six weeks. The kittens that were running around were Persians, one orange and the other one black and white. I picked up the black and white Persian named 'Flash.' He wasn't any bigger than my hand, and so fluffy. Right away he was giving me the stink eye. I fell in love, and seriously thought I was going to start crying.

We left empty-handed that night because we were going to decide what we wanted to do. But I couldn't stop thinking about Flash, and she said he was ready to go if we wanted him. We emailed back and forth, until we had set up a date to go and get him.

I remember it was a Tuesday night, we were so excited to go and get him, but then I received an email that Flash was reacting to some of his vaccinations, she wanted to keep him for a couple more days. Matt and I were devastated, it was as if we didn't know what to do with our lives anymore that night. A couple days went by and I was able to go and pick him up and bring him home.

And then there was three. We did rename him Ashton, because he didn't seem like a 'Flash' to us.

I got him home and all set up with his litter box and food. We were so excited! Every movement he made we oohed and awed at. (We still continue to watch his every movement and think it's the cutest. If you're ever at our house, you'll catch us telling each other "aww look at kitty.")

Coming up July 6th he will be turning 3 years old. Ashton still gives me the stink eye every once in a while. He doesn't like loud noises, such as the aluminum roll, when I'm cooking and rip a piece off. He really isn't that cuddly unless it's his own decision, he will sit far enough away so that I can't reach him. But he loves sitting in front the of the front door in the sunshine and being able to look out at the ducks, bunnies, and squirrels. He is very nosey, if I'm sitting at the table doing work, he sits right next to me after he walks all over my computer and tries to lay on it first. He lives for his wet food, constantly wanting to be fed. And at night you can find him cuddled up at the end of the bed on Matt's side, on the couch or up on his cat tree.

I could go on and on.

If you want to see more pictures of Ashton, visit my Instragram, he has filled up my page!

~B

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page