top of page

Experiencing Cauliflower | Series

Our kitchen has room to move around in! Everything in our home is slowly finding it's way back to their original spot.

I was getting anxious to cook another cauliflower recipe. I figured Monday night was a good night to jump back into it, so I started searching for recipes. Cauliflower mashed "potatoes" pulled up #1 on Pinterest. Simple, easy recipe and I had mostly everything at home, just needed to run to the store for the cauliflower.

The recipe I found inspiration from was Kristen Mccaffery, at the Slender Kitchen.

The Ingredients:

1 Head of cauliflower chopped up

3 cloves of garlic

1 1/2 tbsp of butter

1 tbsp of cream cheese

1/4 C grated Parmesan cheese (I used shredded here)

Salt and Pepper

After chopping up your cauliflower, add it to boiling water for 8 minutes, or until tender. While cauliflower is cooking, melt the butter in a small sauce pan, along with the garlic.

Once the cauliflower is done cooking, drain from the water. The recipe I looked at called for the cauliflower to be placed in a food processor or a blender, and I have neither so I started by smashing it by hand. Added in the melter butter, garlic, cream cheese, and parm cheese and whisked it together. I added in probably more than a tablespoon of cream cheese as I was whisking, to try and make it as smooth as mashed potatoes. A blender or food processor would have done a much better job at achieving the right texture, so if you have one of those I highly suggest using it.

[Side note: My grandma might find this post funny, because actually I don't like mashed potatoes all that well. She knows and will make extra baked potatoes on the side for me. Something about mashed cauliflower was calling to me.]

Overall this was such an easy recipe to make. I paired it was a cod filet and asparagus for supper. It is a healthy alternative to traditional mashed potatoes.

.

Has anyone ever made this, and what were your thoughts?!

-B

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page