top of page

UpCycled | Rustic Vibe

As we continue to work on our main level floors, we are forced to be shoved in every single available corner. We moved our bed into our basement, going on about 10 days now. Tonight is the first night we have the first layer of stain on all the rooms, so we are hanging downstairs for the night trying to avoid them while they dry.

While we are "stuck" in the basement I decided to get a project done that has been on my to-do list. Back in September my sister, mom, and I went vintage shopping. We came across this old man's shop in Gilbert, IA. This man told us that he would go to estate sales and buy truck loads of items, it was quite the shop. When you first walked in the entrance was very tight, there were small aisles and surrounding those aisles where piles on piles of items, stacked up on each other. All sorts of treasures were in there, along with some questionable items. At one point I was sure we had lost Stacie, until I heard her voice pipe up from behind a stack. That shop is definitely one that I want to go back to and dig some more! I'm not sure on the name of the shop, but it was right on the corner of main street.

One of my finds was this $5 long rectangular wooden box. I thought it was a steal, knowing that it would be the perfect size to be a center piece for our small dining room table. I loved it! Although I wasn't crazy about the color and wanted to give it a fresh new look.

Which brings us to tonight in the basement. I wanted to give the box a white, worn vintage look. I know there are probably better ways to achieve this look, but I went with the materials that were available right around me. After wiping the box with a damp cloth to make sure the surface was clean, I primed it. It was primer we had around from all our other projects, which came in handy. The primer dried fairly quickly, I went over with an 80 grit sandpaper just enough to let some of the wood grain come through.

After wiping the dust away I put a layer of white paint on it. The paint I used was extra ceiling paint, we had from moving in. ( Which I had used on a closet recently as well. More to come with that project later. Because the paint was an acrylic latex. It isn't meant for wear and tear, so I did go to Sherwin Williams to pick up a Polycrylic sealer.)

After the 2nd layer of paint dried I repeated my steps with the sandpaper. I went a little heavier this time because I wanted more of the grain and wood to show through the paint.

Next step was the sealer and I let it dry for two hours.

I had picked up a couple of cup pulls from Hobby Lobby to go on each end side. I bought 4 because there is another project to complete and I thought if they both had the same pulls it would help tie them together. Who knows, maybe I'll get that project done too while we are stuck in the basement. Ha!

I didn't measure where to place the pulls. It was a small rectangle area, so I eye balled it. They might be a little off, but it adds to the aesthetic. Also the screws I had on hand were 3/4in., which were a tad too long. I got out my hot glue gun and gave each of the screw tips and little glue cap.

The screws were also a bright silver, to make them match I grabbed some brown paint and just dapped over top of them. I think it helped blend them into the bronze of the pull.

I'm excited to get some spring florals in there! Once we get our house back to order and everything where it belongs, I'll update you with a finished styled photo.

It really can be that simple to give something a new look. Don't over think it, just go for it! :)

Share your projects with us! I love seeing DIYs and getting some inspiration!!

-B

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page