top of page

Spending Time with the House

Now, I understand my house is just a compilation of wood and plaster and cement, filled with stuff, but I also feel it's more than that. It's my dwelling, my safe haven after a long day. The same is true for the three other people who live here. More importantly, my house holds energy, and when I haven't spent enough time at home, I start to feel that energy leaving and changing. When that starts to happen, I can feel myself getting anxious and overwhelmed at home. The cure? Spend time with the house. Move through her rooms, pick up and scrub, dance in the kitchen, clap in the corners where no one ever goes. It is amazing the difference in energy I can feel after I've spent time with the house.

It doesn't happen very often, but this morning I was able to spend time with the house alone. Well, not completely alone, our chocolate lab, Lucy was here, but other than her, it was just me and the house. I picked up clutter, I scrubbed the tub and all the sinks. I lit candles and diffused essential oils. I listened to my favorite Spotify playlist of the moment, "Indie Folk: Western Vistas." The energy in the house was contagious. When everyone else got home, they were lovey and laughing and joyful. My heart was so full.

Now, I know the skeptics are problem thinking, "Well, it was a Saturday, so you didn't have to go to work and the weather was beautiful." I get all that and it probably did have an affect on me and my mood, but I also know I feel energies. I feel the difference in here. It could be dead of winter on a Tuesday and if I spend an hour going room to room, clearing the stagnant and refilling with joy, our environment improves. It's those times when we've been gone every weekend visiting family and friends, gone on the weeknights at the kids activities or our own hobbies, that I feel it. I know when the energy in the house is chaos and reaching negativity. Those are the times when I want to hit the pause button to refill with good and hope; joy and peace.

There is always more housework to be done- at the moment, the kids' rooms are disastrous and laundry never ends, but the energy in the house is clean and renewed. I know this will be a good week because I set the tone. When we are running from activity to activity, there isn't a lot of time to stop and appreciate all that we have, but I want this place, our home to be where everyone in our family comes back to and can relax in.

Live plants and fresh flowers, a smudge stick, and crystals are all great items to have in your house to help keep positive energy flowing, but honestly, just you and your beautiful energy, moving room to room will make a huge difference.

Life is crazy, but I need to make the time to recharge the space that we call Home. This is our little corner of the world filled with our love and memories.

Today: cleanse the energy in your home. My challenge to you.

~S

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page