top of page

Home Routine: Part 1

I have a bit of a rebel personality. I really don't like routine. It seems too rigid to me. I don't like doing something because someone else wants me to do it or because it's expected. It may go back to when I was young. "Don't tell me what to do!" I think my mom can hear these words ringing back to her. But here I am, 32 years old, and I have learned that routine is necessary to be successful. Routine is also, as I've learned the hard way, great for kids. They know what to expect. Uncertainty makes them nervous and in turn they act out. If they know what is expected of them and can anticipate the next step, they are much better behaved.

Up to this point the only home routine my kids have had is bedtime. I remember watching Super Nanny when my oldest was a baby and taking notes on a good bedtime routine because I did not want to be the mom that slept in the kids bed with them or even worse passed out on the floor of their room after the long bedtime battle. We've had a pretty good success rate with our oldest at bedtime. Our youngest was another story. He would get up multiple times just to tell us one more time to not let the bed bugs or flies or snakes or raccoons bite. Insert eye roll here. You can only stay pleasant for so long while this is going on. It would end with either my husband or myself losing our cool and demanding that our son stay in his room or else! Threatening to take away electronics usually did the trick. Fast forward a few years and we have a set amount of kisses we give and one "don't let the bed bugs bite" and lights are out for the night. Yay! Small victories.

So other than a bedtime routine we don't really have much structure. I've always dreamt of being that breezy, artsy mom that teaches her children not to conform to the world, think outside of the box, encourage them to make their own decisions and not direct every moment of every day. They have structure at daycare, preschool and school. I don't want their home life to be blocked and dictated as well. Then reality sets in. I look around and realize that the laxed lifestyle at home allows the kids to get away without doing any chores. They don't know what they are expected to do except keep their rooms clean which still takes World War III to get accomplished. So in turn I end up doing everything (or nothing and the entire house implodes). School papers, shoes, coats, hot wheels, dirty dishes, dirty laundry and sports gear take over and leave me feeling like a failure. Can anyone relate?

Now to the glorious solution: a chore chart! Que the choirs of angels singing hallelujah! We've tried different charts in the past (potty, behavior) and they've worked until we forget to keep up on them and then they fall to the way-side. I was reluctant to start another chart, so I researched and plotted and planned for weeks before starting the chart. But then it was go time; pull the trigger and just go. It didn't need to be perfect, it just needed done. I love Gretchen Rubin's saying- "Don't let perfect be the enemy of good and don't let good be the enemy of done." I needed this chart to be done and implemented like a year ago, so here goes nothing.

I walked the kids through the chart and they were both so excited about it. My daughter loves organization on paper (her room is another story). She loves having a plan for everything. I'm not sure where all that came from, but I appreciate this about her. We have had the chore chart for 2 whole weeks now and it's helped immensely! I don't have to nag, all I say is "Are morning chores done?" and they go to the chart to check it out.

We have had days that we need to catch up on tasks that didn't get done the day before, but at least now we are doing something every single day instead of waiting until the entire house is out of control before we fix it. As much as the chart has helped the kids to realize what needs to be done every day, it has also helped me stay on track and keep up with house work. We don't have tasks assigned to each person; we all help out. Even my husband who is notorious for skipping out on housework has been taking notice and doing his part. Yay! Again, small victories!

Here is a snapshot of what our chore chart looks like:

We have daily chores, weekly chores, every two weeks chores and Sunday projects. It took me about 20 minutes to draw it up and $1.50 for poster baord and $1 for stickers. This chart will last us 7 weeks at which point I will draw a new one on the backside. When creating the next chart, we will know what works for us and what doesn't and we can adjust accordingly.

Seriously, why did it take me this long to implement a chore chart?! And having a little bit of structure, I've learned, doesn't completely crush creativity. We are still able to do projects and paint and dance. The only difference, is now it is done guilt-free knowing that housework is completed and on track.

Coming soon, Routine Part 2: Menu Planning.

Small Victories!

~S

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page