top of page

I Love Mornings

Hahahahaha... hold on, let me catch my breath. I can't even read that statement without busting out laughing.

I am a night owl, through and through! I have an unreasonable amount of energy after 8 pm. I've been known to ride that wave of motivation into the wee hours of morning. But when you work a job that begins at 8 am, staying up til all hours is not ideal. I'm forced to go against the natural flow of who I am. It's difficult to say the least. My husband reminds me all the time that "the world begins at 6 am." Ugh! Yes, you guessed it, he's a morning person. He SINGS out loud before I even have my eyes open in the morning. It's extremely annoying. Although he's a morning person, he's also up until midnight most nights. He just doesn't require as much sleep as I do. This is also annoying!

In order to overcome this, I've read articles and books, I've done online courses and wrote out schedules, I've cried and I've prayed. Nothing has helped. I've decided the only way to change my ways is to break up with the night. It has to be over. For my sanity, my job and my marriage, I have to do this. So, here goes:

My Dearest Night,

Wow, we've had some really good times together, haven't we? You're always there for me at the end of the day. You are irresistible to me with those twinkling stars in your eyes. I'm seriously over the moon about you, but this just isn't working for me anymore. Your darkness pulls me in when I know I shouldn't be here. You trick me into thinking I can fit one more task in, and that I don't actually need 8 hours of sleep. I'm sorry to tell you, I've met someone else who's a ray of sunshine. I need to see where this relationship takes me. Don't ever forget me. I'll visit when I can!

Yours Truly,

Stacie

The first step of correcting a problem is admitting there is one. I know the love I have for the night is a problem. My next step is to create such a glorious morning routine that I'm excited to start my day. I have some ideas, but I would love to hear from you. Do you have a morning routine? What's it look like? What tips can you give a recovering night owl?

-S

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page