top of page

Spruced up

I love the Dollar Tree! It is my go to for craft projects and DIY decorating. Everything is a dollar, and it still surprises me some of the items that they have. (This post is not sponsored, haha!) As I was wandering the aisles one night, I came across some flat black rocks, and knew I wanted to do something with them.

During our process of making this house our home, we have started a whole list of projects. Our bedroom was one room that I wanted to focus on creating a cozy and peaceful place for us. As I was scrolling through Facebook swap, I saw a woman post a $5 exotic house plant. I immediately told her I wanted it because I knew I could do fix it up with the Dollar Tree rocks, and a little spray paint.

(Original picture on the swap site. I didn't take my own before picture)

To keep this project as inexpensive as I could, I already had a can of gold spray paint, and I picked up 4 bags of rocks. Total = $9

I did two coats of the gold for the bottom, to make sure the old brown was covered, and then placed the rocks making some to cover the old moss as much as I could.

After I placed it in our bedroom, Matt said to me 'I like that plant. It makes our bedroom feel like a tropical resort.' Haha! I'll take that as a successful project.

I loved this project so much, that I found another house plant, this time a tree, on the swap site and completed it again. This tree sits in our kitchen nook, helping to add some greenery to the room.

What have you upcycl'd recently?

-B

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page