top of page

What to do with the buns?

After we had a wonderful weekend hosting Matt's family for Christmas and a couple of friends over to ring in the new year, we were left with a package of Hawaiian Sweet Rolls, plus lots of other good leftovers! But what should we do with these buns?

On Christmas Eve my mom had put together French Dip sliders, and they were delicious. I was inspired by that idea, and had seen other recipes out there for the Hawaiian Sweet Roll sliders. I knew I could find something.

I logged onto Pinterest and starting searching slider recipes. The French Dip was a popular one. Naturally I clicked on the 'Easy French Dip Sliders" "The best possible version of French Dip sandwiches — made into oven-baked sliders with a delicious buttery topping!" You can find the recipe from Chelsea's Messy Apron*.

Honestly I don't follow cooking recipes very well, Matt is always giving me a hard time when we're making supper together. Some items turn out awesome and others you definitely need to follow the recipe to a T. It's not that I can't follow them, I decide to either add my own things or simply use the recipe more as a guideline. For example, Chelsea's recipe called for Au Jus dry mix, and when making actual french dip sandwiches we use Onion Soup & Dip Mix, so I swapped those items out.

Let's dig in. (my version - link to Chelsea's recipe is at the bottom)

Ingredients:

1 lb Rare Roast beef (I purchased from the deli)

Provolone Cheese (I bought the HyVee sandwich slices)

8 tablespoons melted butter

1 packet Onion Soup & Dip Mix

1 cup Soy Sauce

1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tablespoon minced garlic

1 Tablespoon Toasted Sesame Seeds

1 teaspoon onion powder

dash of pink himalayan salt

Since I wasn't using a dry Au Jus mix, I had to prepare the Onion soup mix. Along with 4 cups of water, I added 1 cup on soy sauce as well. Brought that all to a boil, stirring occasionally, and let it simmer for about 10 minutes.

I had to toast the sesame seeds by placing them in a dry skillet on medium heat. Stirring them occasionally for 3 to 5 minutes.

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. Grease a 9x13 pan, or a pan big enough to fit your rolls. (I use a coconut oil cooking spray, you can use butter, or whatever you want.)

3. Slice the top of the rolls off and set aside.

4. Place the provolone cheese on the bottoms of the rolls. Covering the whole bottom, then cover the cheese with the deli roast beef. Place the top of the rolls back on.

5. In small bowl, whisk together the melted butter, sesame seeds, minced garlic, onion powder, Worcestershire sauce, salt, and 1/2 cup Onion soup.

6. Pour over the top of the rolls, making sure to cover all of them.

7. Bake for 20 mins or until cheese is melted.

8. Slice and Enjoy! Use the rest of the Onion Soup as your dipping Au Jus.

They were delicious! Even Matt enjoyed them. I asked what he would change next time, he didn't think anything. However, if I were to make these again, I would suggest using 1/2 cup soy sauce with the onion soup. Sometimes soy sauce can be over powering. Also after reading through Chelsea's recipe I would use real provolone cheese from the deli counter, or she used Sargento's Provolone.

What should we cook up next?

*(http://www.chelseasmessyapron.com/easy-french-dip-sliders/#_a5y_p=5919260)

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
FEATURED POSTS
INSTAGRAM
ARCHIVE
bottom of page